3 Memes and a 4-Pack of Bartles & Jaymes Wine Coolers

193232teen-wolf-posters.jpgSince this is the first day of a new year I thought I would take care of some unfinished business from 2007 that I somehow let slip through the cracks before I forge ahead into the vast undiscovered country of 2008. The unfinished business in question is actually three memes, the first from my friend from across the pond Michelle (aka Don’t Call me Mitch) over at Sense and Sensibility-ness-ing-ly, the second from chronic tagger, smoker of the chronic and author of best seller The Shart of War Lotus from Sarcastic Mom and finally the third from a new kid on my block hailing from Peddlin’ Crazy it’s ‘cuz I’m the mommy, that’s why!

Before I mangle these three memes I’d like to take a second to blame Sandy from Momisodes for snookering me into joining an online S&M community, which I now believe stands for Sandy & Momisodes, called Blog365 or something like that. Essentially it’s a commitment to blog every day for 2008 under the penalty of Federal Indictment for perjury. I’m planning to be blogging at Make it a Double and at Strollerderby at least for the first month then just post dope lyrics from my M.C. Shadoe days to fill out the rest of the year. Alright, enough jibber jabber, on with the memes:

What do you read? From Sense and Sensibility-ness-ing-ly

1. How many books do you own?
Kathleen was an English major and I was a High School English Teacher so between us we’ve got hundreds of books. There aren’t actually any books between us unless you count the copy of Penthouse tucked into the waistband of my boxer briefs as a book. All but a handful of our books are boxed up in the attic though since the bookcases in our backroom are now being used to house plastic dinosaurs, Nerf Dart Guns and a Gladiator costume. For the record the Gladiator costume belongs to me.

2. What was the last book you read?
Sadly, I can’t remember the last book I read that wasn’t read aloud to Jack while he nibbled on chicken tenders and cold penne pasta. We’re currently slogging through Book 3 of The Edge Chronicles called Midnight of Sanctaphrax. I did however receive Stephen Colbert’s I am America (and so can you) for Christmas which is being read three pages at a time during Daddy’s “Private Time” in the upstairs bathroom (not what you think)

3. What was the last book you purchased?
Books actually. The first 16 books of The Magic Tree house series. They’re fun to read because the name of one of the main characters is Jack and my son’s name is Jack. On a similar note I just purchased a dozen copies of The Old Testament for my other son Adam.

4. What Five books are most meaningful to you?
How about some authors here instead? Billy Collins, Chuck Palahniuk, Ray Bradbury, Kurt Vonnegut, Allen Ginsberg, Ken Kesey.

5. What is your most obscure favorite book?
White Noise by Don Delillo. I picked it up at a garage sale because I’d just finished another book by Delillo called Underworld Despite not being a novel about sleep aids and instead a meditation on modern society’s fear of death I’ve read White Noise half a dozen times, which says a lot since there are few books I’ll even read twice; or once for that matter.


Chain Letter Meme
from Sarcastic Mom

1. How long have you been blogging?
I’ve been blogging in one form or another since that mid-80’s except back then blogging meant something completely different and involved a Members Only Jacket, a copy of Teen Wolf on Beta Cassette and a 4-Pack of Bartles & Jaymes Wild Berry Wine Coolers. The first time I used a computer to capture my musings that could be shared with others via the Internet was in the early 90’s but since there were no websites yet and email was still in its nascent stages I had to write my blog in Binary Code (just 1’s and 0’s). At the time we called it Clogging and it was merely a coincidence that the only other country that had the technology to support clogs at the time was Holland. I began Make it a Double in May of 2007 originally as a Mail Order Bride Dating Service but soon found that people were far more interested in my shortcomings as a father.

2. What inspired you to start a blog and who are your mentors?
About 2 years ago I started keeping a journal (literally a journal with pen and paper) for Jack that I intended to give him when he turned 18. I was diligent and I wrote to him everyday but it was so fucking boring when I read back over the entries. I realized I was just chronicling his life but I wasn’t telling him anything about me, about the type of person I am, about the type of Dad he made me want to be. Looking back on it I’m not sure why I transitioned from the journal to the blog but this is more of who I am as a Dad. My kids inspire me and they’ve helped me learn more about myself than I could have ever learned on my own.

3. Are you trying to make money online, or just doing it for fun?
Writing is fun. Making money is fun. Making money to write is so much fun I think Daddy needs some “Private Time” in the upstairs bathroom (it’s exactly what you think)

Your Month Meme (my apologies ‘cuz I’m the mommy, that’s why! but the hour is getting late so I’m going to have to take some serious liberties here.)

My birthday is February 14th 1971

I think I’m supposed to comment on the traits that relate to me so here goes:

FEBRUARY:
Abstract thoughts – My Occipital Lobe looks like a Jackson Pollack Painting
Intelligent and clever – I prefer to think of it as Witty and Wise
Changing personality – Only when you make me angry, and you won’t like me when I’m angry.
Attractive – As mentioned in my last post I am the world’s largest producer of the girlfriend repellent pheromone
Sexy – More like Sexxxy. Anybody up for some old school blogging? I’ve got Teen Wolf all queued up?
Temperamental – Oh so now you’re too good to blog with me? Fine. You can just go to hell then, you can just go straight to hell.
Quiet, shy and humble – No, no and no. More like Outspoken, Outgoing and Outrageous.
Honest and loyal – Not to mention Brave, reverent, and Clean plus 1981 Pinewood Derby Champion. How’s that taste John Klimchak? I earned my Kicked Your Ass Merit Badge that day.
Determined to reach goals – Determined to finish this post.
Loves freedom – Hates the rest of the Listen without Prejudice album
Rebellious when restricted – At least I’ve got a cause
Too sensitive and easily hurt – I can’t believe you would say such a thing. You of all people. How could you?
Gets angry really easily but does not show it – Like I said, you won’t like me when I’m angry.
Dislikes unnecessary things – Which implies I love necessary things
Loves making friends but rarely shows it – I’ll show it if it’s necessary
Ambitious – Amphibious
Sharp – Blunt
Loves entertainment and leisure – Again only if it’s necessary
Romantic on the inside not outside – Well it starts out on the inside…
Spendthrift – I prefer the term Wastrel thank you.

That’s it. I’m done.
Only 364 to go.
I’m definitely already disliking this unnecessary thing.

10 thoughts on “3 Memes and a 4-Pack of Bartles & Jaymes Wine Coolers

  1. well, i for one am delighted that you will be posting daily! when you feel like you have nothing to say and no one is reading your drivel anyway you can know that i, at the very least, am here… i will commit to reading your drivel daily 🙂 i would commit to commenting every day but i gotta at least wait until my last restraining order ends… good luck!

  2. Very interesting blog tonight. I agree that blogging is much better than journaling. I never kept one up either. 365 days of getting to read your thoughts and to hear about Adam and Jack…. GREAT !! I always look forward to it. I am another devoted reader than will check in every day. Good luck….. lol (((HUGS)))

  3. Dude! Are you crazy? Wait, I mean are you crazy enough to commit to blogging EVERY day for a YEAR? Wasn’t that nomoblome thing enough? I’m hyperventilating just thinking about it. No.
    But as the president of your fan club, I’m thrilled about the idea of getting to read you every day!! (you did know about the fan club right?)

  4. blink… blink….. blink

    Um, may I remind you of the 30 days in November that you pushed yourself through? And you want to multiply that by 12?? Ugh!

  5. “which is being read three pages at a time during Daddy’s “Private Time” in the upstairs bathroom (not what you think)”

    So, I was thinking you were taking a raging dump… what were you actually doing while reading a book? Cause, um, that’s impressive.

    Someone likes The Hulk just as much as I do – I used that bit in the same meme. 😉

  6. Wow, I can’t believe you’ll be doing this for the remainder of the year! Kudos to you my friend, November was rough enough.

Leave a Reply

