These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

five.jpgJennic over at Sweetisu posted a popular meme she entitled Looking Back 5 Times yesterday and since we are in the final sprint of the NaBloPoMarathon what better time to take a quick glance over my shoulder, to look back on November and beyond, to reflect on how far I’ve come to get to this point.

The simple Rules of this meme are:

1. Post 5 links to 5 of your previously written posts. The posts have to relate to the 5 key words given below.
2. Tag 5 other friends to do this meme. Try to tag at least 2 new acquaintances (if not, your current blog buddies will do) so that you get to know them each a little bit better.
3. Don’t forget to read the archived post and leave comments.

The Key Words for this Meme are Family, Friends, Yourself, Love and Anything. I’ll include a snippet of from each post to give you an idea of what is was about before you decide whether or not to click through to it

Family: Unnatural Selection: How I Failed to Inherit the Vacation Gene
“I can say with complete genetic certainty that I did not inherit the dominant Vacation allele from either of my parents. We just returned from a week in Maine with my parents Nana “Who Drank the Last of My Favorite Wine?” Gathen and Pops “Don’t Worry I Brought My Tools” Gathen and my sister Ish “Put It Back On CNN” Gathen and from Day One my parental vacationing inadequacies were at best glaring and at worst utterly disgraceful to the legacy and line of great vacationing parents who have preceded me….”

Friends: What’s Halloween without Pirates, Patriotism, Poop, Plastic Hair, and Performance Enhancing Drugs.
“This was my first post for NaBloPoMo and this month has resulted in dozens of new friends that I would not have met otherwise. Talented writers, incredible parents, honest souls, and people who make me laugh until I Shart.”

Yourself: The First Rule of Fight Club? Have Your Children Put Lincoln Logs in Your Shoes.
“My job requires me to travel frequently enough for me to know that housekeeping doesn’t appreciate it when you 1) hang your suits from the sprinkler heads 2) drape wet towels over the curtain rods and 3) leave the tub filled with ice and unconscious victims of a complex black market kidney removal scheme, but not often enough for me to legitimately complain about it. Like anyone with kids though, the most difficult part of traveling for me is the separation anxiety that surfaces with each call home, with each child I see holding a father’s hand walking down the street, with each Lincoln Log jammed into the toe of my dress shoes.”

Your Love: It’s a Boy! A Lemon-Scented Boy with New Foaming Action.
“This yearly ritual is one that Kathleen and I have carried on with Jack and Adam and since Adam turned one year old on Sunday and the story of his birth is so unique and miraculous I thought that I would share it with all of you. If you are a regular reader of this blog you know that I am prone to hyperbole and exaggeration however the reality of Adam’s delivery is far stranger than any fiction I could write.”

Anything You Like: Club Füt and a Boy Named Crawl
“Having two children, it’s inevitable that comparisons will be drawn between them. For example, Jack was born with clubbed feet and was casted to the knee on both legs at only three days old. Though his left foot was corrected within a month, his right foot was so severely inverted that it required additional casting, two separate operations, physical therapy and a corrective splint worn at night after the casts were finally removed. When even those measures didn’t work, as a last resort we allowed the Orthopedic Surgeon to perform a radical and experimental cybernetic procedure in which Jack’s foot was replaced with a metal endoskeleton and then covered with living tissue. Though the operation was successful in correcting Jack’s foot, every couple of weeks it travels back in time to kill Sarah Conner.”

As seems to be the trend this late in the NaBloPoMo game I too will not plant the kiss of death on anyone in particular. See you at the finish line tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

