Tell Me About Eddie Rabbit, George.

eddie-rabbit.jpgFor the record I didn’t get to bed before midnight last night even though I had planned to. So, my plan tonight is to take advantage of something Sarcastic Mom and Crooked Eyebrow used as personal inspiration for their posts today called Photo Hunt (created by TNChick) then power down the laptop, crawl into the plough marks on my side of the bed and sleep, perchance to dream, but what’s that they say about the best laid plans of mice and men? That’s right, they get a bullet in the back of their head with their dream just out of reach.

This week’s photo hunt theme is “I Love ____________” and for me there really was only one answer. I love a rainy night. I love to hear the thunder, watch the lightning when it lights up the sky. You know it makes me feel good. Yeah, I never miss an opportunity to pet a rabbit or drop an Eddie Rabbit reference, but despite my fondness for stroking soft furry things and nocturnal precipitation (which occurs most commonly during a young man’s teenage years and is incidentally caused by dreams of stroking soft furry things) there’s something in my life I love more than both.

Three somethings actually, well three someones to be exact. Kathleen, Jack and Adam. Whereas I realize I posted pictures yesterday, I desperately need to recharge my creative batteries or at least borrow the one’s out of the smoke detectors (oh come on…it’s not like we ever use them) and start fresh tomorrow with a kick ass, all up in your grill cleverly worded humorous anecdotal 1200 word self-indulgent piece of crap.

For now though I’ll try to dream of cloudbursts, puppies, and country singers with crossover pop success, but mostly of the three most important people in my life.

006_19a.jpg

img_0479.jpg

img_0501.jpg

8 thoughts on “Tell Me About Eddie Rabbit, George.

  1. Those are some dang gorgeous objects of love. Ain’t family grand?

    You’ve got yer own place where ya belong, and ya don’t have to sleep in no bunkhouse, when ya got kin like that, eh?

    Happy Weekend, Mr. Gathen. Hope you get rested up.

  2. Lovely pics of the family!

    I too love the rain paired up with thunder and lightning. By far the best boomy show I have ever seen was when I lived in New Mexico, hardly any trees in the way…and very, very flat land. Germany is rare to have storms like that.

  3. Ding dang, Bill Gathen. That’s some gorgeous wife n’ offspring you have there.

    Also, you made me laugh very loudly as I was jolted with a memory of Eddie Rabbit. I remember that when I was quite a young’n, I loved that song so much that I went to the library and checked out an Eddie Rabbit tape so that I could play it over and over. My mom went bonkers after hearing:

    I love a rainy night… I love a rainy night… I love a rainy night… I love a rainy night… I love a rainy night… I love a rainy night…
    Yeah, I love a rainy night! Ooh! Ahh!

  4. momisodes: Alas I did not:

    sarcastic mom: Nice pull from the book. I actually do sleep in the bunkhouse though some nights. Gorgeous indeed they are…

    lisa: Mr. Rabbit is an all-time classic but never got to see him live in concert…and now it’s too late:(

    thebutton: The storms in new mexico must have been thrilling. Germany? Military or just fed up with American politics?

    whit: He used to take Diner’s Club but the fees were too high. Found in a large man’s pocket? That’s funny. I don’t care who you are.

    karen: Thank you. Nablahpahmah has drained me and there’s still over 10 days left. My brain is a piece of beef jerky.

    Imaginary Sarah: How eird is our generation? Checking out tapes from the library? Our kids are never going to believe our stories. Ding Dang? You say some peculiar things sarah, don’t stop though…don’t ever stop

Leave a Reply

